螺旋纽带 在线清洗 提升冷水机组换热效率的一个有效措施 -EQOBRUSH伟控科技

螺旋纽带清洗可作为提升换热效率的又一措施

清洁换热管带来的效率

壳管式热交换器或(冷却器)冷凝器管中换热效率指标让其成为系统中即便不是核心组件也是最关键的组件之一。 判断热交换器的效率是基于其优化传热的能力。

沉淀和结垢等因素大大降低热交换器和冷凝管传热的能力; 因此整个冷水机组的性能也会受到影响。 为了解决不需停机同时又能清理管道这个问题,在线清洁系统应运而生。 其中解决方案之一就是螺旋扭带系统。

螺旋纽带概述

螺旋纽带是一项先进的增强传热率在线技术,包括:

  • 螺旋纽带
  • 支架和转轴
  • 连接环和垫片
  • 上述部件由聚合物或金属材料制成,具有化学稳定性,强度,弹性,腐蚀性和耐磨性。 扭带比水密度稍高,对多方向流动的冷却水有很好的抵消作用,使其漂浮在管道中心。

    螺旋纽带的工作原理

    螺旋纽带通过改变冷却流体的流动通道来增强热交换管中的传热效果,在流体动力中,存在两种主要类型的流动:层流和横向。 在层流中,流体颗粒沿纵向流动,唯一的传热模式是传导。

    当插入螺旋纽带时,会在管内产生湍流横向流动。 这种流动激活了流体颗粒并强制形成对流和传导传热。

    螺旋纽带对提升换热器运行性能的效果

    尽管螺旋纽带已被证明是一种先进的在线管道清洁系统,但其在热交换器/冷凝管清洁的有效性也存在其缺点:

    1. 磨损和撕裂

    螺旋纽带的带子部分材质是聚合物会随着使用时间递增而磨损。 当发生这种情况时,带子的宽度减小,从而弱化纽带的旋转扭矩。 最终,纽带不能达到其清洁任务的需要。 带子表面反而会变脏和缩小。 带子的平均使用寿命约为7500小时。 这会增加用户的使用成本(请参阅下文的比较)。   

    2. 压力损失

    湍流水流对系统压降的影响可能会增加。 如果不加以补偿,流量会减少,这会对系统的总体性能产生负面影响。 计划使用螺旋扭带清洁技术进行改造时,需要考虑这方面的因素。     

    3. 对碎屑的敏感度

    装有螺旋纽带的管道如有碎屑进入的话很容易被堵塞。 显然,这是由于流动表面被纽带切成两半的简单事实造成的。 需要特别注意过滤器的得维持住100%过滤性能(从冷却塔到装置的水流中)。

    4. 表面结垢

    纽带能破坏换热管壁上的盐层和金属离子滞留层,却无法打破其自身表面的滞留层变得易于结垢。 这可能会降低纽带的转速并增加水阻。当纽带失去防污性能时,结垢会影响冷水机组的效率。

    5. 水质

    螺旋纽带在水质条件好的情况下运行良好。 但是,当冷却流体中含有氯,钾和钠盐等物质时,结垢和腐蚀机率会增加。 流体温度升高并且这会使冷却机组的操作恶化。

    前景

    螺旋纽带在新系统和改造中相对容易安装和维护。 事实上冷凝器运行时它就进行清洗工作,这意味着不会出现停机之类的生产损失。 然而,上面强调的缺点可能会导致生产周期不甚理想。 

    我们推荐此设备的使用,并特别推荐用于大型机组,例如发电厂冷凝器,由于循环水管直径太大,对于需要换向阀的刷式清洁系统来说不太适用。

    对于可以应用换向阀的小型项目(最大管径600毫米),由于购置成本低和维护成本低,因此可以使用像Eqobrush这样的自动管道清洁系统。 该技术在正常操作期间通过对沉淀和结晶形成之前清除矿物沉积物实现清洁冷凝管。 这种清洁方法在避免管道腐蚀和泄漏方面是相当有效的,那两个危险因素的发展可能会使机组运行陷于瘫痪。

    运营成本比较

    一台制冷机(450 RT)配有一台270千瓦的压缩机电机和600根束管。 压缩机运行时间为5000小时。 运行为期10年。 总运行时间为50,000小时。

    清洗系统 刷式 纽带
    用量 600套刷子 600套纽带
    更换 每20,000运行时 每7,500运行时
    更换 & 检查频率 48 个月 12-18 个月
    单价每套 (包含安装费) US$ 2.00 US$ 5.00-10.00
    总使用量 (10 年-50,000 小时) 1,200 套刷子 4,200 套纽带
    用量成本 US$ 2,400 US$ 21,000 – 42,000
    (原始的设备已包括清洗组件)

     

    本文撰自朱愉洁和刘伟的研究成果 发表于2013年 “中国学术期刊”.译文可从我司网站 下载  

    图片提供感谢 Chongqing Huanji Low Carbon Saving Technology Development Co., Ltd.

    取消回复

Twisted-Tape Inserts as a strategy to improve heat transfer rates - Watco Group

Twisted-Tape Inserts as a strategy to improve heat transfer rates

Efficiency through clean tubes

The rate of thermal energy transfer in shell and tube heat exchangers or (chiller) condenser tubes makes them one of the most critical components, if not the heart, of the system. The efficiency of the heat exchanger is measured based on its ability to optimize heat transfer.

Factors such as scaling and fouling greatly reduce the ability of heat exchangers and condenser tubes to transfer heat; hence they affect the overall performance of the chiller. To solve this problem without necessarily halting operations to allow for tube cleanups, on-line cleaning systems were developed. One such solution is the twisted tape system.

Overview of Twisted Tape

Twisted tape is an advanced, on-line heat transfer enhancement technology comprising:

  • A twisted strip
  • Brackets and shafts
  • Connecting rings and gaskets

The above components are made of polymer or metallic materials that are chemically stable, strong, elastic, and corrosive and wear resistant. The twisted strip is slightly denser than water and counters the multidirectional force of cooling water very well, allowing it to float at the center of the tube.

How Twisted Tapes Work

Twisted tape enhances heat transfer in heat exchanger tubes by modifying the flow channel of the cooling fluid. In fluid dynamics, two main types of flows exist: laminar and transverse. In laminar flow, fluid particles travel in a longitudinal direction, and the only mode of heat transfer is conduction.

When twisted tape is inserted, it causes a turbulent, transverse flow inside the tube. This kind of flow activates the fluid particles and forces heat transfer through both convection and conduction.

The effectiveness of Twisted Tape in Enhancing Heat Exchanger Performance

While twisted tape has been built as an advanced online tube cleaning system, its effectiveness in heat exchanger / condenser tube cleaning has its shortcomings:

1. Wear and tear

The spiral ties of the twisted tape are made of a polymer material that wears out with time. When this happens, the width of the ties reduces, thereby weakening the rotation torque of the twisted tape. Ultimately, the twisted tape cannot meet its cleaning obligations. Its surface will instead become fouled and scaled. The average lifespan of the tape is about 7500 running hours. This affects the cost of ownership (see the comparison below).

2. Pressure loss

The turbulent water flow can have an increasing effect on the pressure drop of the system. If not compensated for this, the flow volume decreases, which can negatively impact the overall effectiveness of the system. This aspect needs to be factored in when considering the tape cleaning technology for retrofitting.      

3. Sensibility to debris

Tape-equipped tubes are more likely to be blocked by debris if it can enter the tubes. Obviously, this is caused by the simple fact that the flow surface is cut in half by the tape. Special attention needs to be given to strainer performance being maintained at 100% (in the water stream from the cooling tower to the unit).

4. Surface fouling

As the twisted tape breaks the retaining layer of salts and metal ions on the wall of the heat exchanger tube, its own surface becomes vulnerable to fouling. This potentially reduces the rotating speed of the twisted strip and subsequently increases the water resistance. When the twisted tape loses its antifouling property, scaling sets in and takes a toll on the efficiency of the chiller system.

5. Water quality

Twisted tape works well in good quality water. However, when the cooling fluid contains substances such as chlorine, potassium, and sodium salts, the rate of scaling and corrosion increases. The fluid temperature then rises and this deteriorates the operation of the chiller unit.

The Way Forward

The twisted tape is relatively easy to install and maintain both in new systems and in retrofits. The fact that it can clean your condenser tubes while in operation means no standstill production loss. However, the drawbacks highlighted above could cause less-than-optimal production cycles. 

We endorse this application and recommend it particularly for large installations, such as power plant condensers, where brush cleaning systems cannot be applied (due to feed pipe diameters that are too large for reversal valve application).

For smaller size projects where reversal valves can be applied (up to 600 mm pipe), an automatic tube cleaning system like Eqobrush may be preferable, due to low cost of ownership and low maintenance. This technology cleans the condenser tubes during normal operations by removing mineral deposits before they even settle and crystallize. This cleaning approach is effective in avoiding tube corrosion and leakage, two dangerous developments that can paralyze your operations.

EXAMPLE COMPARISON OF OPERATING COST

A chiller (450 RT) runs with a 270 kW compressor motor with 600 tubes. The compressor running time is 5,000 hrs. per year over a period of 10 years. Total running time is 50,000 hrs.

System

Brush

Tape

Useable

600 brushes

600 tape sets

Replacement

Every 20,000 running hours

Every 7,500 running hours

Replacement & inspection frequency

Every 48 months

Every 12-18 months

Value per unit (including installation cost)

US$ 2.00

US$ 5.00-10.00

Total useable units (10 yrs-50,000 hrs)

1,200 brushes

4,200 tapes

Cost of useable

US$ 2,400

US$ 21,000 – 42,000

(first set included in initial set-up)

 

This article is based on the findings published by Zhu Yu Jie and Liu Wei in 2013 on the “China Academic Journal”. A translated version of the article can be downloaded from our website. 

Graphics with thanks to Chongqing Huanji Low Carbon Saving Technology Development Co., Ltd.

Leave a Reply