火电厂,热电厂中凝汽器结垢问题与在线管刷清洗方案- 伟控集团 伟控科技

火电厂里的表面式凝汽器及其作用

表面式凝汽器或者蒸汽冷凝器是一种水冷壳管式换热器,其主要用于冷凝来自热电站蒸汽轮机排出的蒸汽,让蒸汽在低于大气压力水平下从气态转换为液态。

在蒸汽表面式凝汽器中,蒸汽和冷却水并不会混合。在锅炉中的冷凝水可以被重复使用:在表面式冷凝器中,即便非纯水也可以用于冷却,而在喷射式凝汽器中,冷却水必须是纯净水。 虽然表面式凝汽器的投资成本和所需空间更多,但由于其低运行成本和高热效率,它仍然是火电厂的首选设备。

表面式凝汽器的类型

根据冷凝水抽取泵的位置,冷凝水流量和管道排列,表面式凝汽器可以划分成不同类型。

顺流式表面凝汽器

在顺流式凝汽器中,排放的蒸汽向下推进,流经带有双通道设置的冷却水管道(蒸汽的下半部分向下进入,上半部分则由相反的方向离开)。

向心式表面凝汽器

这种向心式表面凝汽器里,蒸汽进入壳程的循环内,冷凝流向管束的中心流动。

逆流式蒸汽冷凝器

在逆流式冷凝器中,蒸汽进入壳程的底部,抽气泵连接于顶部。蒸汽首先向上流动,然后返回冷凝器底部,冷凝水抽取泵连接在冷凝器底部。

火力发电厂

朗肯循环发电厂

火力发电站通过蒸汽驱动的涡轮机将热能转换为电能:把水加热变成蒸汽并驱动连接于发电机的涡轮机工作。涡轮机工作后,蒸汽在冷凝器中冷凝并回到锅炉中进行循环加热和蒸发。这就是朗肯循环的基本原理。

朗肯循环

火电力厂

以下是朗肯循环运行步骤:

  • 锅炉的等压传热
  • 涡轮机中的等熵膨胀
  • 凝汽器中的等压放热
  • 泵中的等熵压缩

等压传热

火电厂的冷凝系统

等压传热:进料泵将高压液体泵到锅炉中以加热到饱和温度。额外热能致使液体蒸发,直至其完全转化为饱和蒸汽。

等熵膨胀

冷凝式汽轮机(冷凝式涡轮机)效率

等熵膨胀, 当涡轮机中蒸汽膨胀,它驱动涡轮机并将能量转化为电力。冷却介质的温度限制了膨胀水平。冷凝器中较低的冷却温度会产生较高度的真空度(较低的绝对压力)并允许更多的膨胀。

等压放热

冷凝器在蒸汽动力装置中的作用

等压放热, 膨胀的汽液混合物从涡轮机到达水冷表面冷凝器。高效的冷凝器将蒸汽压降低到大气压以下,接近冷却水温度下水的饱和压力。

等熵压缩

电厂蒸汽排放

等熵压缩, 进料泵能提高冷凝水的压力并具有相对低的能量消耗,因此通常不包括在热力学计算中。

表面式凝汽器在火电厂里的作用

蒸汽换热器

从低气压涡轮机排出的蒸汽进入壳程。 这些蒸汽通过冷凝管束后,随即被冷却并转化为水(冷凝物)。蒸汽喷射器(或旋转电机驱动的排气装置)不断地从蒸汽中排去空气和气体,同时保持着真空。

冷凝器温度越低则冷凝蒸汽中的压力越低,并能确保最佳工作效率。由于冷凝器温度几乎总能保持在100℃以下,其中水的蒸汽压远低于大气压,因此冷凝器通常在真空下工作。空气(不可冷凝的)泄漏到闭合回路中将降低真空,从而降低效率,因此必须防止。

一般情况下,冷却水约在25°C(77°F)的时候把蒸汽冷凝,并且在冷凝器中产生约2-7kPa(0.59-2.07inHg)的绝对压力,即低于大气压约-95kPa(-28inHg)。

当水蒸气冷凝时通过大幅减小真空体积的产生,有助于将蒸汽排到涡轮机以获得最佳效率。

冷凝器通常使用来自冷却塔的循环冷却水或者使用直流冷却地表水(来自河流,湖泊或海洋)将余热排放到大气中。在许多地方,冷却塔乃至一次性设置,也是强制性的避免对地表水加热和相关的生物影响。

自然通风,强制通风或引导冷却塔通过蒸发将水温降低约11至17°C(20至30°F),并将不可回收的废热排放到大气中。 一个500 MW的机组在满载时以约50,000m³/ hr(500ft³/ s或225,000 US gal / min)的速度循环。

冷凝器管由黄铜或不锈钢制成,具有最佳的传热性和耐腐蚀性。来自冷却水的细菌,藻类,泥浆或灰尘和结垢导致内部垢层并阻碍热传递,这导致较低的真空并因此降低导热效率。

火电力厂通常面临的挑战

发电厂的能源转换效率和发电量的最大化

最佳冷凝器性能,实现最佳发电效率。火力发电厂持续不断的挑战是实现能量转换效率和发电量的最大化。通常,最高效率可达约38%。重点通过对燃烧控制,炉子调整,燃料开关和涡轮机升级来提高热量率,冷凝器的性能就会不被看重。实际结果是:经常停机清洗和维修对工厂设备的热耗率和输出功率产生重大影响。

真空在蒸气涡轮机中的重要性

高度冷凝真空能够提升发电厂的产量。冷凝器结垢导致冷凝器真空度降低,这样反过来影响了发电厂燃料转化效率并导致设备的输出率降低或容量降低。

冷凝器真空度平均提高0.35英寸汞柱或12毫巴(1.6%)将使工厂的热效率提高约3  –  3.5%。 如果冷凝器管持续保持清洁以获得恒定的最佳传热效率,就可以实现这种平均效率或产能的增加。

避免锅炉管故障

避免锅炉管故障引起的强制停运。冷凝器结垢影响着冷凝器管的健康,一但冷凝器管开始泄漏时,冷凝器管与蒸汽侧产生的真空相结合可能是灾难性的。冷却水将最终进入锅炉管并导致腐蚀,这是锅炉管故障的最主要原因之一。 这反过来导致进一步的产量损失和昂贵的维修费用。

如何提高蒸汽凝汽器和火力发电厂的效率

火力发电厂的高效运行对于最小化电力消耗成本(和碳足迹)是至关重要的。因此,仔细地同步运行各个组件相当有必要。近几十年来,随着这些效率提升技术的引入,冷凝器管刷自动清洗技术可能是最简单的解决方案,作为一种有效的解决方案,可以显着提高发电厂的工作效率,却经常被忽视了。

用于蒸汽表面凝汽器的管刷自动清洗系统 - 最明智有效的解决方案

EQOBRUSH - 伟控集团

良好的蒸汽冷凝器性能对于火电力厂的总热功效率有很大帮助。 如上所述,它允许保持高度冷凝真空并避免因高能量转换引起的锅炉管故障。

为了始终保持冷凝管清洁,应考虑使用冷凝器自动管刷清洗系统如EQOBRUSH.

EqoBrush Automatic Tube Cleaning Brushing System For Heat Exchanger

在自动管刷清洗系统中,我们使用四通换向阀定时(每4小时一次)切换冷凝器的水流方向。 以此推动刷子(放置在每个管末端的捕捉篮中)通过冷凝管,刷掉管壁上的任何污垢。让污垢没有机会形成固态垢层或积聚于冷凝管,而是随水流带到冷却塔盆中。

自动管刷系统一旦安装使用,冷凝器不再需要进行开机盖清洗了。减少了停机时间和维护成本,以及提高生产产量等优势。

使用我们的紧凑型换向阀,EQOBRUSH可安装在进出水管直为600毫米的冷凝器上。这意味着我们可以将我们特制的标准系统安装到输出功率高达40 MW蒸汽轮机系统上。这是生物质发电和小型地热发电厂的理想选择。 如果是更大的冷凝器可以使用专门设计的解决方案。

Surface Condenser in Thermal Power Plant - Watco Group

Surface Condenser and Its Function in Thermal Power Plant

A surface condenser or steam condenser is a water-cooled shell and tube heat exchanger used to condensate the exhaust steam from the steam turbine in thermal power stations: the steam is converted from gaseous to liquid state at a pressure level below atmospheric pressure.

In steam surface condensers there is no mixing of exhaust steam and cooling water. The condensate can be re-used in the boiler: In surface condenser even impure water can be used for cooling purpose whereas in jet condensers cooling water must be pure. Although the capital cost and the space required is more in surface condensers but it is still preferred due to its low running cost and high thermal efficiency of plant.

Types of Surface Condenser

Surface condensers can be classified into varies types depending upon the position of condensate extraction pump, flow of condensate and arrangement of tubes. 

Down Flow Surface Condenser

In these down flow condensers the exhaust steam travels downwards with cooling water flowing through the tubes in a 2-pass setup (entering in one direction lower half and exiting out in the opposite direction in the upper half).

Central Flow Surface Condenser

In this central flow surface condenser type steam enters around the shell’s circumference. The condensate flows radially towards the center of tube bundle.

Inverted Flow Steam Condenser

In inverted flow type condenser the steam enters the bottom of the shell and air extraction pump is connected at the top. Steam flows upward first and then returns to the bottom of the condenser, where the condensate extraction pump is connected.

Thermal Power Plant

Rankine cycle Power Plant

thermal power station converts heat energy to electric power via steam-driven turbine: heated water turns into steam and drives a steam turbine connected to an electrical generator. After passing through the turbine, the steam is condensed in the condenser and recycled to the boiler for reheating and evaporation. This is the basic principle of the Rankine cycle.

Rankine Cycle

Thermal Power Plant

The Rankine cycle operates in the following steps:  

  • Isobaric Heat Transfer  in Boiler
  • Isentropic Expansion in Turbine
  • Isobaric Heat Rejection in Condenser
  • Isentropic Compression in Pumps

Isobaric Heat Transfer

Condensate System in Thermal Power Plant

Isobaric Heat Transfer. The feed pump brings high pressure liquid to the boiler for heating to the saturation temperature. Addition of the thermal energy causes evaporation of the liquid until it is fully converted to saturated steam.

Isentropic Expansion

Condensing Steam Turbine Efficiency

Isentropic Expansion. When the vapor expands in the turbine, it drives the turbine and the energy can be converted to electricity. The temperature of the cooling medium limits the level of expansion. Lower cooling temperature in the condenser creates a higher vacuum (lower absolute pressure) and allows more expansion. 

Isobaric Heat Rejection

function of condenser in steam power plant

Isobaric Heat Rejection. From the turbine, the expanded vapor-liquid mixture reaches a water cooled surface condenser. Efficient condensers reduce the vapor pressure below atmospheric, close to the saturation pressure of the water at the temperature of the cooling water.

Isentropic Compression

steam dumping in power plant

Isentropic Compression. The feed pump that raises the pressure of the condensate is of relative low energy consumption and is therefore often not included in thermodynamic calculations.

The function of Surface Condenser in Thermal Power Plant

Steam Heat Exchanger

From the low-pressure turbine the exhaust steam enters the shell. The steam is cooled and converted to water (condensate) by flowing over the tubes of the condenser. Steam ejectors (or rotary motor-driven exhausts) continuously remove air and gases from the steam and while doing so maintain vacuum.

Lowest possible condenser temperatures achieve the lowest possible pressure in the condensing steam assures optimal efficiency. Since the condenser temperature can almost always be kept significantly below 100 °C where the vapor pressure of water is much less than atmospheric pressure, the condenser generally works under vacuum. Leakage of (non-condensible) air into the closed loop will decrease the vacuum, and therefore efficiency, and must be prevented.

Typically the cooling water causes the steam to condense at a temperature of about 25 °C (77 °F) and that creates an absolute pressure in the condenser of about 2–7 kPa (0.59–2.07 inHg), i.e. around −95 kPa (−28 inHg) below atmospheric pressure. The vacuum that is created through the large decrease in volume when water vapor condenses helps pull steam through the turbine for optimal efficiency.

Condenser generally use either circulating cooling water from a cooling tower to reject waste heat to the atmosphere, or once-through cooling surface water (from rivers, lakes or ocean).  In many areas, cooling towers are mandatory even for once-through setups to avoid heating of the surface water and related biological impact.  

Natural draft, forced draft or induced draft cooling towers reduce the temperature of the water by evaporation, by about 11 to 17 °C (20 to 30 °F) and dissipate non-recoverable waste heat to the atmosphere. A 500 MW unit will circulate around about 50,000 m³/hr (500 ft³/s or 225,000 US gal/min) at full load.

Condenser tubes are made of brass or stainless steel for optimal heat transfer and corrosion resistance. Bacteria, algae, mud or dust and scaling from the cooling water cause internal fouling and hinder heat transfer which leads to lower vacuum and therefore lower thermodynamic efficiency. 

Challenges usual to Thermal Power Plants

Maximizing Energy Conversion Efficiency and Capacity of the Power Plant

Optimal condenser performance for best power plant efficiency. The ongoing challenge in thermal power plants is to maximize their energy conversion efficiency and capacity. Typically the efficiency is maxed out at about 38%.  With a focus on combustion controls, furnace tuning, fuel switches, and turbine upgrades to supply heat rate improvements, condenser performance can be underrated. Result: frequent interruptions for cleaning and repair with significant impact to the plant heat rate and power output capacity. 

importance of vacuum in steam turbine

High condenser vacuum improves power plant capacity. Condenser fouling leads to a decreased condenser vacuum which in turn affects the fuel conversion efficiency and leads to an output decrease or capacity decrease of the plant.

An average improvement of the condenser vacuum by 0.35 inches Hg or 12 mBar (1.6 %) will improve the thermal efficiency of the plant by around 3 – 3.5%. This average efficiency or output increase could be realized if the condenser tubes would be kept clean continuously for constant optimal heat transfer efficiency.

Avoid boiler tube failures

Avoid boiler tube failures, major cause of forced outages. The condenser fouling also affects the health of the condenser pipes which can be, in combination with the vacuum created at the steam side, disastrous when the condenser tubes start leaking. Cooling water will end up in the boiler tubes and contributes to corrosion as one of the most prominent reasons for boiler tube failure. This in turn leads to further capacity loss and expensive repairs.

How To Increase the Efficiency of Steam Condenser and Thermal Power Plant

Efficient operation of thermal power plants is paramount to minimalize the cost (and carbon footprint) of electricity consumption. Carefully synchronized operation of the individual parts is required for this. With all technologies that were introduced to improve efficiency over recent decades, automatic condenser brushing may be the simplest solution that is often overlooked as an effective solution that may significantly increase the efficiency of power plant work.

Automatic Tube Brushing System for Steam Surface Condenser - the most elegant solution

EQOBRUSH - WATCO Group PTE ltd.

Good steam condenser performance contribute a lot to total thermal power efficiency. As it was mentioned above, it allows to keep high condenser vacuum and avoid boiler tubes failures which results in high energy conversion.

For maintaining clean condenser tubes at all times consider the use of an automatic tube cleaning system like EQOBRUSH.

EqoBrush Automatic Tube Cleaning Brushing System For Heat Exchanger

In automatic tube brushing we use a flow reversal valve to regularly (once every 4 hours) reverse the flow of cooling water over the condenser. This will then propel brushes (that are nestled in catch baskets at the end of each tube) through the tubes to remove any fouling from the tube walls. The fouling does not get the chance to settle in and start scaling and will sediment in the cooling tower basin.

Once the automatic tube brushing system is installed there is no more need to open the condenser for leaning. Reduction of downtime and the costs of maintenance are additional advantages to the output increase.

EQOBRUSH can be used for condensers with a diameter of the water in and outlet pipes of up to 600mm with our compact flow reversing valve. This means that we can fit our standard systems to steam turbine systems with an output of up to 40 MW per unit. This makes it ideal for biomass and smaller geo-thermal power plants. Larger condensers can be accommodated with specially engineered solutions.